Award of the Walter-Gropius-Prize in Hong Kong

Prize awarded for the first time by Thomas Wolf, CEO of RIB Software SE.

Prof. Martin Fischer, Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Grube, Thomas Wolf and Klaus Wowereit at the award ceremony

On the 100th anniversary of the founding of the Bauhaus, the Walter-Gropius-Prize was awarded this year in Hong Kong to pioneers and visionaries who had a formative influence on life in the 21st century. The award ceremony took place during the iTWO Bauhaus 4.0 Masters Summit, which was organized by the German software company RIB Software SE in Hong Kong.

Walter Gropius was a German architect and co-founder of the Bauhaus movement, which has its beginnings in Weimar in 1919 and developed worldwide influence through extraordinary designs, architecture and urban planning according to the motto "form follows function". Gropius, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Frank Lloyd Wright and Le Corbusier are considered co-founders of modern architecture.

In the age of digitalization, the Bauhaus movement gains new significance. To this end, RIB Software SE, which develops and distributes new technologies for the digital transformation of the construction industry globally with more than 1,500 employees, launched the Bauhaus 4.0 Initiative under the leadership of its CEO Thomas Wolf. The original founders of the Bauhaus innovatively combined craft, art and sustainability in their work and summarized this in the Bauhaus manifesto by saying "The ultimate goal of all art is the building!". In schools of art and architecture, young people were taught how to design functional, sustainable and artistic products. The Bauhaus 4.0 Initiative takes up this idea and sets itself the goal of turning digitization into art to solve the challenges of the 21st century, in particular the generation conflict and climate change, by creating a symbiotic relationship between technology, art and craftsmanship. The initiative plans to establish one hundred Bauhaus 4.0 schools worldwide in order to create a new aesthetic based on digital technologies.

A top-class jury selected three outstanding personalities as winners of the Walter Gropius Award for their contributions to the transformation of infrastructure, cities and academia:

Klaus Wowereit, former mayor of Berlin, who during his term succeeded in establishing Berlin as the most attractive location in Europe for young, creative people and start-ups. Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Grube, former Chairman of the Board of Management of Deutsche Bahn AG, who during his time at the head of Deutsche Bahn made decisive progress in digitizing and modernizing the infrastructure. Prof. Martin Fischer, Professor at Stanford University, who through his research and publications on the topics of virtual construction and integrated project delivery has significantly shaped the world’s thinking about efficient construction.

The award winners jointly decided to donate the prize money of around € 3,500 to charitable causes in Hong Kong.


Sign up for our latest updates

© 2020 RIB Software SE. All rights reserved.

/ Privacy / Terms of Use /

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon